Who God Made You To Be

10667746604_8f6f0a9028

Sometimes I just feel worthless. I feel like I can’t do anything right. As an example, I wandered around campus today because I had forgotten where I parked my car. When I did find it, it was parked in a spot labeled: 30 Minute Parking. Flashers Must Be On. I had parked there to unload my groceries the day before and forgot to move it back to a lot farther away, where students are allowed to park. I had left my car in that spot with the flashers on. Now, my car was dead and I was going to be late for work. After I had made an embarrassing call to the campus police department and got my car charged, I commuted to work, mentally kicking myself the whole way there.

Why am I so stupid? Why can’t I pay more attention to things? How am I going to take care of myself? And on and on my brutally unproductive train of thought went until I arrived at work, thoroughly ticked off. Then today, with my self-confidence still bruised, I came across this bible verse:

You are the one who put me together inside my mother’s body, and I praise you because of the wonderful way you created me. Everything you do is marvelous! Of this I have no doubt.Psalm 139:13-14

This verse really got me thinking. When is the last time I’ve done that? Have I ever praised God for the wonderful way He created me? Heck no. As a matter of fact, there have been times, many more times that I’d like to admit, when I asked ‘God why, just why would You make me this way?’ And I think that because I am insulting my own self that I have the right to question Him, to be angry at Him even, about the way He created me. But I don’t. No one does. Just as I trust that God has a plan for my life, I need to trust that He knew what He was doing when He created me, even the parts of myself that I don’t like. My forgetfulness is a huge weakness, of course, but as He said in 2 Corinthians 12:9, “my power is made perfect in weakness.” I need to trust that even my undesirable personality traits are also part of His plan. I am not a perfect Christian. I am a work in progress. God is living in me and working in me to make me who I am supposed to be. And He will not give up until I get there because He loves me.

We must learn to love ourselves the way that God loves us. Remember this the next time you want to change something about yourself: The Lord does not make mistakes. Everything He creates is marvelous and perfect. You are one of His creations. To say that you are anything less than marvelous is an insult to the One who made you. God doesn’t just accept you as you are, He adores you as you are. He would not have created you if He didn’t.

If you liked this post, you might also enjoy reading To All Those Not Good Enough and Burning Out

photo credit: <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/13112347@N02/10667746604"></a> via <a href="http://photopin.com">photopin</a> <a href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/">(license)</a>
4 thoughts on “Who God Made You To Be

Leave a Reply

